Saving Reed’s Bridge and Brown’s Ferry

I have been busy of late, sort of overwhelmed by various things, including the finishing details of volume II of The Chickamauga Campaign, and working on some other writing projects I have due. Vol. II should be at the printers soon, very soon. I will let folks know when it happens.

I wanted to post here, however, about a new appeal from the Civil War Trust, for a chance to save 42 acres in the Chickamauga-Chattanooga area. The trust is working to save another 30 acres at Reed’s Bridge, and a 12 acre parcel at Brown’s Ferry, site of the Federal crossing on the night of October 27, 1863.

Here is the link to the CWT’s appeal:

http://www.civilwar.org/hallowed-ground-magazine/fall-2010/fight-at-reeds-bridge.html

they need approximately $120,000, and it is nearly a 6 to 1 match.

I am happy to report that for those of you who attended the Chickamauga Study Group Seminar last March, we raised enough money to donate $900.00, which I sent off today.

Take a bow, all of you who contributed.

2 Responses to “Saving Reed’s Bridge and Brown’s Ferry”

  1. Ray Says:

    I see the publisher has pushed back the release date of Vol II yet again. From June 19, to August 19 and now to September 19. Any idea when book will actually be released?

    • Dave Powell Says:

      Ray. I can only tell you that we are almost done with editing and indexing. One more chapter to go. But timing is out of my hands, and I have been optimistic too many times in the past.

Leave a Reply

