Published Again

yesterday, the Chattanooga Times Free Press published a short piece on Tullahoma, written by yours truly. I know all of you already subscribe to the Times Free Press, but for those who don’t…

http://www.timesfreepress.com/news/2013/jun/23/powell-tullahoma-civil-war-middle-tennessee/

Thanks to the paper for asking me, and for helping to build interest in the Sesquicentennial.

6 Responses to “Published Again”

  1. Chris Evans Says:

    Dave,

    Thanks for the link.

    In reading Dyer’s still quite wonderful biography on Wheeler (I actually found a 1941 complete copy after your mention of it in a footnote being superior to the 1961 ‘revised’ edition) I came across the account of the bizarre assault on Wheeler in Nashville in August 1865 by two former Union officers.

    I was wondering since you have quite a collection of primary source material, do you have any additional information on this humiliating assault on Wheeler?

    Chris

    • Dave Powell Says:

      Chris,

      I replied elsewhere, but no, I don’t have any more info on that event. Too soon for animosities to fade, I suspect. That and remember that Wheeler’s guys did a fair amount of heavy-handed stuff themselves against locals of all stripe.

      • Chris Evans Says:

        Thanks, that is about what I thought.

        To be honest, I had never heard of the event until reading Dyer.

        Thanks again,
        Chris

  2. Cheryl K. Says:

    Thanks for the link – I’m a distant subscriber with a keen interest in Chickamauga and would not have seen the article in the Time Free Press!

  3. Chris Evans Says:

    I came across a excellent site on Ambrose Bierce that of course mentioned his involvement in the Civil War and Chickamauga.

    Just wanted to post the link to the page that had some nice drawings of Bierce in his Union army uniform and a fascinating painting (not really Bierce related) by a modern artist showing the charge of the 15th Wisconsin against the Texas brigade that I had never seen before. It does a good job showing the horribleness of their situation. I think it must have been about the same for the 24th Wisconsin on the second day

    http://donswaim.com/bierce.redman.html

    Chris

Leave a Reply

