149th Anniversary – Updated

My schedule has firmed up for the coming festivities

Waiting for Hood…

Between 2:00 p.m. and 3:30 p.m. on Saturday, September 15, I will be tag-teaming with Jim Ogden on a ranger walk in Viniard Field, where some of the battle’s bloodiest fighting occurred.

On Sunday the 16th, between 11:45 a.m. and 1:15 p.m., I will be discussing “Breakthrough In Brotherton Field” the critical moment of Tom Wood’s departure right as General Longstreet attacked.

I will also be doing book signings each day.

Plus I will be wandering around, hanging out with the park guys, taking in a few such walks as a tourist, and all that fun stuff. See you there…

6 Responses to “149th Anniversary – Updated”

  1. Don Hallstrom Says:

    Dave On another subject, how is your next book coming? Really looking forward to it. I must say, I’m very impressed with the quality of books that your publisher is publishing.

    Regards
    Don Hallstrom

    • Dave Powell Says:

      Don, RE: my campaign study of Chickamauga, I am happy to say that the writing is done. The editing and prep remains, however, which is always a big task. Dave Powell

  2. Lou Mosier Says:

    Dave,
    I can’t make it this year but I assume you’ll be at the big 150th in 2013. I certainly hope to make it then. As I’ve already had you sign my copies of your extant books, I hope to get a signed copy of your magnum opus at that time. 😉

  3. Chris Evans Says:

    That sounds great. I really wish I could be there. The tours you are doing really cover two of my favorite parts of the battle to study. I’d really like to go over the Viniard field fight with experts and walk the ground to really make sense of it all.

    Chris

  4. John Foskett Says:

    Any chance of posting a summary of your Brotherton Breakthrough talk here after you get back? i’ll wager everybody would be interested in your current thinking about Tom Wood’s departure.

    • Chris Evans Says:

      That’s a great idea. I hope that Dave recaps the different walks in a post or two when he comes back.

      I would like to know what was said.

      Chris

Leave a comment