Update

Thanks, Marc and Chris, for touching base.

Yes, it has been a while. Things have been a bit hectic lately, which explains my absence.

First, my aunt passed on at the end of March, shortly after the study group, and so I had to go to Kentucky for her funeral. Three weeks later, my mother – her sister – passed on as well. My mother’s passing was not unexpected, but of course, that doesn’t really make it any easier on everyone. I’ve been trying to spend more time with my father (who is 84, and in good health) as a result, since he has been left suddenly alone after 50 years of marraige. this is a big change for all of us.

Then there is the f act that we sold/merged the family business, with not just one but two other courier companies. We split off parts of our customer base to match them with the couriers who could best serve their needs, but doing that simultaneously with two seperate companies quadruples an already complex task workload.

Plus we are trying to liquidate the remaining business stuff, like selling off cars, selling the building, etc. Lots of work there, as well.

All delivery companies are going through big changes these days, what with the rise of the internet and increasingly easy digital delivery of even very large information files. Like the Post office or Kodak, we are less critical to the business world these days. For instance, I and my lawyer, my new partner and his lawyer, all negotiated and signed the contract for one of these deals entirely via email, no face to face or document hard copy delivery needed. In days of yore, my services as the letter carrier would have been critical to such a deal.

Then there is the book. I am trying to still find time to spend on it, as it is the most fun thing I am doing right now. I have about 50 of 55 chapters written, with about 410,000 words on the page (also digital, go figure.:)) and I am doing a pretty serious edit currently. I beleive that I will be finished with a full draft by late summer or early fall. I think it is coming along really well, but there is always more to do.

That doesn’t mean I don’t have blog post ideas. I do. Time to research and write them is what’s lacking. for example, in reading Watkins’ Company Aytch, I came across a reference to Colonel Hopalyte Oladowski, Bragg’s Polish-born ordnance officer. What was interesting about that was the fact that Watkins obviously confused Oladowski with the Perfidious Frenchman, Major Nocquet: Watkins claimed that at the end of the war, Oladowski stole a uniform from Bragg and deserted – which, in Oladowski’s case, wasn’t true. Nocquet deserted, stealing a payroll.

All of which got me looking at Oladowski, only to discover that there isn’t much on him. I’d like to do more digging on the man, but time is – as ever – the issue.

I think I will be on a more even keel going forward, which means I can start posting again.

Dave Powell

7 Responses to “Update”

  1. Harvey Scarborough Says:

    Hey Dave,
    Most sorry to hear about the loss of your mother and aunt. This Mother’s Day weekend will be tough, but just know that we “blog followers” all feel for you and for your father.

    For us Chickamauga fans, we are most glad to hear that you are nearing completion of your massive work. I know it isn’t necessary to remind you, but please, please do backup your digital files on multiple sources! I would certainly hate to read in your next blog that “something happened” and your files just disappeared into cyberspace! I wouldn’t say this if my personal experience hasn’t already taught me the hard way!!

    Anyway, I do wish you all the best with your business plans. Being in the financial business, I, too, know the effects the “digital world” is having on all of us. We hardly see a sole in our lobby, but we are doing more transactions daily than ever via home banking and other automated means. Who knows, by the time you have your Chickamauga book ready, you may only want to distribute it digitally!! (Well, let’s hope not. I still want that hard copy in hand when I walk through the woods on the next Study Group tour!!) But, at 55 chapters, I do hope it comes with wheels! Maybe we’ll need both digital and hard copies…..

  2. Tom DeFranco Says:

    Dave, I’m very sorry to hear about your Mom and your Aunt. I wish I had known so I could have attended your Mom’s wake. Let me know if there is anything you might need.

  3. jfepperson Says:

    Let me add my condolences on your family losses—take care of your Dad, he’s more important than the blog!

  4. Chris Evans Says:

    Thanks for the update Dave. I’m sorry for your losses. I lost both grandparents on my mother’s side in the past year and know how very tough that has been on my family.

    I look forward to your future postings and book.

    Chris

  5. John Foskett Says:

    What everybody else has said, Dave, along with condolences. That’s a pretty overwhelming confluence of events and I doubt that anyone who visits this blog won’t fully understand the lack of activity.

  6. Marc Grad Says:

    Hi Dave,
    Very sorry to hear about the loss of your Mom and Aunt. My thoughts are with you and your family during this difficult time.

  7. Darryl Smith Says:

    Just catching up with your blog since the study group…sorry to hear about both of the losses in your family. I hope that every day the memories grow fonder and the pain becomes smaller.

Leave a Reply

