Things to keep me busy…

Yesterday, I was interviewed on Civil War Talk Radio – you can find the interview at this link:

http://www.voiceamerica.com/worldtalkradio/vshow.aspx?sid=865

The show’s had a lot of great guests, and the host, Gerry Prokopowicz, is an excellent interviewer. It’s been around for a number of years now, and if you are curious about a book or author, it’s a good resource.

On June 19th, I will be speaking at a Civil War Symposium in Arthur, Illinois, again, here’s a link with the details:

http://kvcwrt.cwahi.net/Decatur/10-SpringSymposium.html

Then, the following week, I will be doing a series of talks for the Annual Origins Game Fair, held in Columbus Ohio. Once upon a time, Origins was the premier wargames convention, though it grew to embrace all sorts of adventure gaming, eventually dwarfing the wargame aspect, but some of us still “soldier” on with cardboard every year. In addition to the games, the convention hosts a series of military history and current affairs lectures (titled ‘The War College’) that run all four days. I usually do 3-4 talks on aspects of the Civil War.

Again, the required link:

http://www.originsgames.com/

And then there’s the books. Some of you may know that I have an essay in Steven Woodworth’s latest collection, “The Chickamauga Campaign,” from SIU Press, now available. I’m in good company on this one. The current title focuses on Chickamauga (big shock, I know) and contains work from Woodworth, Glenn Robertson, and a number of other noted ACW historians. I am pleased my piece on James Negley made the cut.

In addition, in September Savas-Beatie will publish my study of Confederate Cavalry. The title should provide some hints as to what I cover in it:)

“FAILURE IN THE SADDLE: Nathan Bedford Forrest, Joe Wheeler, and the Confederate Cavalry in the Chickamauga Campaign”

this work was first written several years ago, and I am pleased to have found a home for it. I hope it will be as well received as the Map Atlas, though I do pen some critical passages concerning an Icon – Forrest. We’ll see how I do.

July and August are – so far – quiet months for me, at least in the history field, but I will also be leading a tour for David Woodbury in September – again the link if you are interested:

http://web.me.com/civilwarforum/The_Battle_of_Chickamauga/Welcome.html

One Response to “Things to keep me busy…”

  1. Charlie Townsley Says:

    I have signed up for the tour you be leading at Chickamauga for David Woodbury Historical Tours and am looking forward to the same. I have just finished reading your book Maps of Chickamauga in conjunction with reading This Terrible Sound by Peter Cozzens and must say both resources have helped to lift the fog in understanding the battle. Looking forward to meeting you and listening to your expertise.

Leave a Reply

