Advance Copy of “The Maps Of Chickamauga”

Today I got a great treat in the mail. It was an advance copy of my new book (with outstanding digital cartography by my partner, Dave Friedrichs) “The Maps Of Chickamauga.” For those of you who have seen other titles in this series by Savas-Beatie, you know the basic format. A map on one page, the supporting text on the facing page, each taking you step-by-step through a battle.

Chickamauga is an amazingly complex battle, with often very confusing interactions. As such, it took a lot of maps to get right. I think we succeeded. Also, at $39.95 for a 300 page hardcover full color atlas, I think it is an incredible bargain. I don’t know what skeletons Mr. Ted Savas had to bury in various closets to get this kind of pricing, but I am glad he did – I hope it moves off the shelves of bookstores for a long time to come.

On a personal note, I have had wargames published, articles in various magazines, and led a number of tours large and small. One’s first book, however, delivers a unique sense of accomplishment, if I do say so myself.

Copies should be available soon for sale at all the usual outlets, online and otherwise. I will let everyone know once the Publisher tells me it is available for sale.

I will be gone all next week, leading tours and doing some communing with my favorite field. I hope to get a post or two in here at the blog, but that depends on how tired I am after a day of battlefield tromping.

5 Responses to “Advance Copy of “The Maps Of Chickamauga””

  1. Kevin Coy Says:

    I am sooooooo looking forward to this book. Congratulations.

  2. Sam Elliott Says:

    Congratulations, Dave. It really is a great feeling. I’ll look forward to seeing it on the market.

  3. Dean Essig Says:

    Congratulations Dave… ordered mine.

    I got to see the book briefly as Dave passed through last Saturday. Looks absolutely outstanding. Something to be really proud of!

  4. Chris Woodyard Says:

    I’m afraid I can’t find a link to purchase your maps book. Is there an external site to purchase?
    Thanks,
    Chris

Leave a Reply

