Hello,

Folks have been urging me for a while now to start blogging. Apparently, it’s all the rage among the Civil War smart set. Now the time seems right. While I have written articles in various magazines in the past, Savas-Beatie will be publishing my first full length work in the fall: “The Maps Of Chickamauga.” With 336 pages, and 126 full color maps (beautifully crafted by my partner and cartographer, Dave Friedrichs) I think this atlas will reveal the battle in a new and exciting way.

But that’s not the only reason to start a blog…

Here’s the deal. For a long time now, I have wanted to find a way to bring some of my Chickamauga material to the web. Research I’ve got, binders full of the stuff, in fact. Much of it is public domain, and a lot of it won’t ever really work in a book project – like, for example, the material I have collected on strengths and losses for each regiment who fought at Chickamauga. Eventually, I want this site to be the must-see location on Chickamauga on the web – the place to go for battle accounts, primary sources, analysis, and those odd bits that never seem to fit in anywhere else. So here goes. Things will start slowly as I figure out how to do all that I want to do, and master the basics of setting up this site, but I hope to be hitting a solid posting stride soon.

 Thanks for reading…

Dave Powell

6 Responses to “”

  1. Scott Says:

    This is great news Dave! I look forward to a lot of new stuff on Chickamauga.

  2. Terry Johnston Says:

    Dave:

    Best of luck with this. I’ll certainly look forward to seeing what you have to say—and share…

  3. Theodore P. Savas Says:

    You can count on me to be a regular reader. Congrats, DP.

  4. Drew Says:

    Sounds great, Dave. I’ve added you to the blogroll.

  5. Brett Schulte - TOCWOC Says:

    Dave,

    I heard about your new Chickamauga Blog at Harry’s Bull Runnings yesterday. I’m looking forward to reading and I’ve added you to TOCWOC’s blogroll. I’m especially interested in the strengths and losses of individual regiments.

  6. Craig Swain Says:

    Great addition to the CW Blog rolls!

Leave a Reply

