Chickamauga 150th.

Starting next weekend, I will be at Chickamauga-Chattanooga National Military Park for a week.

At 7:00 p.m. on Friday, September 13th, I will be speaking to the Cobb County Civil War Round Table about my latest book, “Failure in the Saddle.”

On Staruday the 14th and Sunday the 15th, I am helping the Park with their 150th celebration, conducting tours with Dr. Keith Bohannon all day at the Brotherton House. We get to talk about Longstreet, Tom Wood, and the Breakthrough.

I will be signing books in the Visitor’s Center either first thing in the morning or at the end of the day, depending on the scheduling.

Starting on the 18th, the park will be running a series of battlewalks discussing the events as they happened, 150 years ago that day.

The big 150th Re-enactment is supposed to happen on Saturday, the 21st, so the park has tried not to conflict with that event by running events starting on the 14th and running through the 20th.

Here is a link to the park schedule for the coming week.

http://www.nps.gov/chch/planyourvisit/events.htm?submitted=1&date_start=9%2F13%2F2013&date_end=9%2F22%2F2013&date_min=08%2F27%2F2013&date_max=08%2F27%2F2018&keyword=&as_fid=UMs1cjoiLpqxjJvnMZd3

The NPS has made a major effort to enhance the 150th experience for vistors at all the parks. I have been looking forward to Chickamauga’s 150th for some time. Hope to see some of you there…

Dave

6 Responses to “Chickamauga 150th.”

  1. Andy Papen Says:

    Dave, are you going to be leading any of the battlewalks on the 18th through the 20th?

    • Dave Powell Says:

      Andy, I am doing tours on the 14th and 15th. Starting on the 18th, I am going to go along on as many of the walks as I can, but not as a guide. I am just hanging out for those three days. I will also be doing some book signing in the bookstore. Friday is the Lytle monument dedication, and I will be there. Dave

  2. Lee Elder Says:

    It is killing me to miss this year’s observation! I wanted very much to walk up Horseshoe Ridge on 9/20/13. I’ll be interested to read your review of the week.
    Lee Elder

  3. Chris Evans Says:

    Wish I could be there. One of my favorite battles to study and battlefields to walk.

    I also look forward to the recaps of the events.

    Chris

  4. Michael K. Shaffer Says:

    Dave, looking forward to seeing you this evening at the meeting of the Civil War Round Table of Cobb County, Georgia!

    Mike

  5. Dennis Says:

    wish I could be there too

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 406 other followers

